Call for Papers

Vehicular Communications Symposium

The 8th International Wireless Communications & Mobile Computing Conference (IWCMC 2012)

Cyprus, August 27-31, 2012

Symposium Chair:

Sherman Shen (University of Waterloo, Canada, xshen@bbcr.uwaterloo.ca)

Symposium Co-chairs:

Hai Jiang (University of Alberta, Canada, hai.jiang@ece.ualberta.ca) Ping Wang (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, wangping@ntu.edu.sg) Dongmei Zhao (McMaster University, Canada, dzhao@mail.ece.mcmaster.ca)

Scope:

Recent advances in vehicular communications and computing technologies have enabled various types of vehicular communications and networks, intra-vehicle, vehicle-to-infrastructure (V2I), vehicle-to-roadside (V2R), and vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) or mobile-to-mobile (M2M) communications. This results in a plethora of new applications for improving traffic safety, protecting environment by reducing traffic congestion and fuel consumption, and providing mobile infotainment services. There has been a strong interest in developing various techniques and important applications in vehicular communications, which are envisioned to revolutionize the driving experiences and traffic control systems. The objective of this symposium is to bring together researchers and engineers from both academia and industry worldwide to present cutting-edge research achievements covering all aspects of vehicular communication technologies regarding research, developments, standardization, and applications of current and future vehicular communications on all aspects in vehicular communications and networks, including, but not limited to the following topics of interest.

- Antenna technologies
- Physical layer designs
- Channel measurement and modelling
- Coverage control and analysis
- Network architecture
- Mobility management and topology control
- Mobility and vehicle traffic models
- Intelligent transportation systems
- Vehicular sensor networks
- Vehicular social networks
- Interoperability and Gateways to Internet or 3G networks
- Medium access control
- Radio resource management and QoS support

- Data management and processing
- Cooperative vehicular communications
- Intra-vehicle, V2I, V2R, and V2V communication protocols
- Teletraffic congestion control, multicast, mobility management, etc.
- Cross-layer design and optimization for vehicular communication networks
- Security and privacy technologies
- Transportation safety and non-safety applications and services
- Road traffic monitoring and control
- Vehicle tracking
- Simulation framework and performance evaluation techniques
- Real-time experimental systems and testbeds for vehicular communications
- Standardization activity

Submission Guidelines:

Prospective authors are invited to submit original technical papers—up to 6 pages of length, using the EDAS link http://edas.info/newPaper.php?c=11197 for possible publication in the IWCMC 2012 Conference Proceedings, which will be included in IEEE Xplorer. Selected papers will be further considered for possible publication in three special issues in the following Journals:

- 1. Wiley Journal of Wireless Communications and Mobile Computing (WCMC) http://www3.interscience.wiley.com/journal/76507157/home
- 2. The International Journal of Sensor Networks (IJSNet) http://www.inderscience.com/browse/index.php?journalCODE=ijsnet
- 3. The International Journal of Autonomous and Adaptive Communications Systems (IJAACS): www.inderscience.com/ijaacs
- 4. KSII Transactions on Internet and Information Systems: www.itiis.org
- 5. Peer-to-Peer Net. & Applications, A springer Journal

http://www.springer.com/engineering/signals/journal/12083

Note: There will be best paper award, best Symposium award and best Workshop award.

Important Dates:

Submission: Jan. 20, 2012 Acceptance notification: March 25, 2012 Camera Ready: April 30, 2012 Registration: April 30, 2012

TPC Members:

Sachin Kumar Agrawal, Samsung Electronics, India Onur Altintas, Toyota Info Technology Center, Japan Rafael Asorey-Cacheda, Universidad de Vigo, Spain Stefan Aust, NEC Communication Systems, Ltd., Japan Abdelmalik Bachir, Imperial College London, United Kingdom André-Luc Beylot, IRIT Toulouse, France Igor Bisio, University of Genoa, Italy Luciano Bononi, University of Bologna, Italy

Roksana Boreli, National ICT Australia, Australia Lin Cai, Princeton University, USA Rong Chai, Chongqing University of Posts and Telecommunications, China Periklis Chatzimisois, Alexander TEI of Thessaloniki Cherita Corbett, Johns Hopkins University, USA Tomaso De Cola, German Aerospace Center, Germany Luca Delgrossi, Mercedes-Benz Research and Development North America, USA Stefan Dietzel, University of Twente, Netherland Marc Emmelmann, Fraunhofer FOKUS, Germany Bassam Farroha, US Department of Defense Gianluigi Ferrari, University of Parma, Italy Fethi Filali, QU Wireless Innovations Center Mario Freire, University of Beira Interior, Portugal Thierry Gayraud, Toulouse University of Science, LAAS-CNRS, France Francisco Gonzalez-Castano, Universidad de Vigo Yuming Jiang, Norwegian University of Science and Technology Kun-chan Lan, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan Long Le, University of Quebec, Canada Yunxin (Jeff) Li, NICTA, Australia Qilian Liang, University of Texas at Arlington, USA Antonella Molinaro, University "Mediterranea" of Reggio Calabria, Italy Padma Mundur, University of Maryland, USA Edith Ngai, Uppsala University, Sweden Dusit Niyato, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore Fusun Ozguner, The Ohio State University, USA Andrzej Pach, AGH University of Science and Technology, Poland Ravi Prakash, University of Texas at Dallas, USA Victor Rangel, National University of Mexico, Mexico Gianluca Reali, University of Perugia, Italy Sandro Scalise, DLR (German Aerospace Center), Germany Björn Scheuermann, University of Würzburg, Germany Gonzalo Seco-Granados, Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona, Spain Sidi-Mohammed Senouci, University of Bourgogne – ISAT Nevers Wei Song, University of New Brunswick, Canada Andrej Stefanov, IBU Skopje, Macedonia Petia Todorova, Fraunhofer-FOKUS, Germany Ljiljana Trajkovic, Simon Fraser University, Canada Maria-Angeles Vázquez-Castro, Universidad Autónoma de Barcelona, Spain Wenjing Wang, University of Central Florida, USA Weidong Xiang, University of Michigan, USA Rongtao Xu, Beijing Jiaotong University, China Homayoun Yousefi'zadeh, University of California, Irvine, USA Bo Yu, General Motors Global Research, USA Seved (Reza) Zekavat, Michigan Technological University, USA Baoxian Zhang, Graduate University of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, China Gang Zhu, Beijing Jiaotong University, China