# Cooperative and Cognitive Networks Workshop

International Wireless Communications & Mobile Computing Conference Website: <u>http://iwcmc.org/2014</u> Submission Link: <u>https://edas.info/newPaper.php?c=14357</u>

August 4-8, 2014, Hilton Cyprus, Nicosia, Cyprus

Scope | Submission Guidelines | Important Dates | Workshop Chairs | TPC Members

# Scope

Cognitive radio (CR) networks have emerged as a promising solution to the spectrum scarcity problem. It can be used to increase the spectrum efficiency through its capabilities to detect and opportunistically access vacant spectrum slots. Cooperative networks have also been recognized as a key technology for improving bandwidth utilization. Although the promises and potentials of cooperative and cognitive networks are apparent, realizing them gives rise to various PHY-, MAC-, and Network-layer challenges that need to be addressed. This workshop seeks original papers describing research contributions that address cognitive and cooperative related issues and challenges, ranging from theory to practice, from architecture to algorithms, and from policy to implementation. Technical papers describing original, previously unpublished research (not currently under review by another conference or journal) that address current challenges related to cognitive/cooperative networks are solicited. Topics include, but are not limited to:

- Performance analysis and information-theoretical approaches
- Protocol design and optimization
- Interference mitigation
- Relaying techniques for Free Space Optical (FSO) networks
- Physical layer security with relaying techniques
- Multimedia support and QoS management
- MIMO techniques for cooperative and cognitive networks
- Spectrum sensing/sharing techniques with outdated CSI
- MAC design and scheduling
- Multi-hop and multi-antenna techniques for cognitive networks
- Cross-layer designs and techniques

- Energy aware protocols and techniques

- Simultaneous information and power transfer techniques for cooperative and cognitive networks

- Security, robustness, and reliability
- Machine learning and adaptive techniques
- Pricing models and regulatory policies
- Experimental prototyping and test-bed evaluation
- Application platforms and middleware

#### **Submission Guidelines**

Authors are invited to submit original papers of no more than 6 pages (standard IEEE proceedings, two-column, 10 pt font, etc.), including figures, tables, and references, in PDF format. Accepted papers will be published in the IWCMC14 conference proceedings, which will be included in IEEE Xplore database. Submission implies that at least one of the authors will register and present the paper at the conference. Electronic submission is accepted through the EDAS web site at https://edas.info/newPaper.php?c=14357.

#### **Important Dates**

Paper submission deadline: Paper acceptance notification: Camera-ready paper submissions: Author registration: Conference date: January 20, 2014 (Extended) March 15, 2014 April 15, 2014 April 15, 2014 August 4-8, 2014

## **Workshop Chairs**

Mahdi Ben Ghorbel, Qatar University, Qatar, <u>mahdi.benghorbel@qu.edu.qa</u> Bechir Hamdaoui, Oregon State University, USA, <u>hamdaoui@eecs.oregonstate.edu</u> Kamel Tourki, Texas A&M University at Qatar, Qatar, <u>kamel.tourki@gmail.com</u>

## **Technical Program Committee Members**

Mohamed Abdallah, Texas A&M University at Qatar, Qatar Fatma Abdelkefi, , Ecole Superieure de Communications de Tunis (Sup'Com), Carthage University, Tunisia Ala Abu Alkheir, University of Ottawa, Canada Fawaz Al-Qahtani, Texas A&M University at Qatar, Qatar Vo Nguyen Quoc Bao, Posts and Telecommunications Institute of Technology, Vietnam Hichem Besbes, Ecole Superieure de Communications de Tunis (Sup'Com), Carthage University, Tunisia Zied Bouida, Concordia University, Canada Houda Chafnaji, Institut National des Postes et Telecommunications, Morocco Trung Q. Duong, Queen's University Belfast, UK Zakaria El-Moutaouakkil, Telecom Bretagne, France Wael Guibène, Semtech Corporation, France Majed Haddad, Institut National de Recherche en Informatique et en Automatique (INRIA), France Noureddine Hamdi, Ecole Nationale des Sciences de l'Information (ENSI), Manouba University, Tunisia Kyu-Sung Hwang, Korea University, Korea Aissa Ikhlef, Toshiba Research Europe Limited, UK Salama Ikki, Lakehead University, Canada Fahd Ahmed Khan, University of Edinburgh, UK Young-Chai Ko, Korea University, Korea Manar Mohaisen, Korea University of Technology and Education, Korea Aymen Omri, Qatar University, Qatar Zouheir Rezki, King Abdullah University of Science and Technologie (KAUST), Kingdom of Saudi Arabia Mohammad Shaqfeh, Texas A&M University at Qatar, Qatar Himal Suraweera, University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka Liang Yang, Guangdong University of Technology, China Serhan Yarkan, Istanbul Commerce University, Turkey Yulong Zou, Nanjing University of Posts and Telecommunications, China Hina Tabassum, University of Manitoba, Canada